Remembering Michael Jackson – 2 Years On

Michael Jackson in March 2009 (Photo Oceania Rock)

I still find it strange to think that Michael is gone. It’s only when one of his songs comes on the radio or one of the music channels that I am reminded. As a young child in the 80’s I grew up listening to his music. A male superstar who shook the world and redefined the whole music industry. Throughout my life he remained the King of Pop and I always anticipated that he would rock the world once more. To be reminded that he is no longer here and that he will never perform again is still a difficult concept.

Musically he pushed boundaries. He became an inspiration to people around the world, gaining fans from every spectrum of society. The songs Thriller, Billie Jean, and Bad defined the 1980’s and remain as fresh funky as they did the day they were first released.

In the final years of his life he became the subject of increasing scrutiny over his private life. I find it very sad that it was only upon his death on June 25th 2009 that the world woke up and re-discovered what an amazing talent he was.

For me Michael Jackson will be remembered as an extraordinary individual who fought his demons to become one of the biggest stars the world has ever and will ever see. I will also simply remember him as someone who cared. He cared for his family, he cared for his friends, his fans and for the world as a whole.

Today, we forget the gossip, forget the lies and remember the man – Michael Jackson.

About eastlondonmike

I'm a 30 year old gay man living in Leyton, East London. I'm very opinionated and many people may not like what I have to say. I like to create discussion. You can only change things by making people think.
This entry was posted in Showbiz and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

