One year in London

Image by Diliff

I spent most of my twenties wanting to move to London. I felt I had outgrown my home town of Bristol. Most of my friends had already moved on and my love life was non-existent. Despite this, I never felt brave enough, the daunting prospect of leaving my remaining friends and family always held me back.

It was in Spring 2010 that I visited London and made the decision that I was going to finally make the move. I spent a few months job hunting which proved unsuccessful and then made the life changing decision to move anyway (thanks in part to my brother offering me his spare room in West London)

I quit my job and left Bristol on August 7th 2010. I was excited, emotional and also very scared. I had spent the previous year living in a flat I loved in the Clifton area of the city. I cried as I left the flat for the last time. My decision to leave before finding a job came to define the next four months of my life.

I spent my entire time trawling through online job applications, except when catching the staple re-runs of ‘Murder, she wrote’ and ‘Diagnosis Murder’. At one stage I was averaging over twenty applications per day. Even this only resulted in a handful of interviews. Mainly group interviews for telesales posts. I actually was successful in one interview and spent a week selling digital TV before deciding I’d frankly rather be unemployed!

It wasn’t until the end of the year that I got my break. One of the agencies I had signed up with called me during the Christmas holidays to confirm they had booked me on to a three month contract in a pensions company. I quickly moved into a more permanent position and I am still there now.

Looking back over the last twelve months is difficult. I’ve had some really good times but it has been tough and still remains so. I resolve never to have regrets but there are definitely some things I would have done differently. One thing I am sure of as I come up to my one year anniversary of living in London is that this was where I was meant to be. Despite struggling financially, I thrive on the buzz that only London can give. I enjoy my job, I have made some great friends, I live in a studio flat in East London and even my love life is looking up! No regrets.

About eastlondonmike

I'm a 30 year old gay man living in Leyton, East London. I'm very opinionated and many people may not like what I have to say. I like to create discussion. You can only change things by making people think.
This entry was posted in Articles, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

