Song for the Weekend – Outside

Every Friday I am faced with the dilemma of what to choose for my “Song for the Weekend”. To try to make the decision making process a little easier for myself I have made a list of artists and songs I definitely want to include at some point.

When it came to choosing the song for this weekend one name jumped out at me from my list….George Michael.

The former member of 80s band Wham! has carved out a huge solo career over the last three decades and is now cemented as one of the UKs best loved singer/songwriters. His personal life has been the subject of years of scrutiny and ridicule but his talent and star quality shines through all of that.

Earlier today it was confirmed that George’s remaining UK dates this year have been postponed. He is currently in Vienna recuperating from pneumonia. I want to wish him a speedy recovery and I hope he is back on the stage soon.

I know it’s no consolation to the fans who have been disappointed at today’s news but I hope this song will cheer you up a little. I wanted to share one of my favourite George Michael tracks “Outside”. The 1998 release was his first single since being arrested in a public toilet and his subsequent admission that he was gay. The video is a tongue in cheek, dirty, disco flavoured, two fingers up to the establishment. I love it for it’s button pushing, for it’s frankness and for it’s fun.

About eastlondonmike

I'm a 30 year old gay man living in Leyton, East London. I'm very opinionated and many people may not like what I have to say. I like to create discussion. You can only change things by making people think.
This entry was posted in Song for the Weekend and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

