What you waiting for?

After such a Madonna filled week I could have easily chosen one of her hits for this week’s “Song for the Weekend”. I don’t want this page to become a complete Madonna take over so I have decided to go for something different.

Back in the mid nineteen nineties I remember spending hours watching The Box music channel. I can remember seeing the video for No Doubt’s “Just a Girl” and loving it. It was of course “Don’t Speak” that thrust the group into the global spotlight. A song that now is a classic of it’s time and incidentally was covered rather embarrassingly by myself at the office Christmas party last month!

At No Doubt’s helm was lead singer Gwen Stefani. In 2004 she released her debut solo album “Love.Angel.Music.Baby”. The album’s lead single was “What You Waiting For?” and I loved the song and it’s video instantly. It was cool, kooky and catchy. This was a girl who brought us a new level of kookiness well before Lady Gaga. How else can you describe a singer who takes 4 Harajuku Girls around the world with her?

This song is still one of my favourite songs ever and sounds as fresh today as it did eight years ago.

About eastlondonmike

I'm a 30 year old gay man living in Leyton, East London. I'm very opinionated and many people may not like what I have to say. I like to create discussion. You can only change things by making people think.
This entry was posted in Song for the Weekend and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

