Queen Elizabeth II – 60 Years as our Queen

20120206-122204.jpg

Today marks the 60th anniversary of the death of King George VI. His young daughter, Elizabeth became our Queen and has served us with dignity ever since.

The Queen’s diamond jubilee will be marked by a series of events in June including a pageant on the Thames and a concert at Buckingham Palace. Details of the concert are expected to be announced tomorrow.

Queen Elizabeth has released the following statement on this special day, giving thanks and renewing her vow to serve her people.

Today, as I mark 60 years as your Queen, I am writing to thank you for the wonderful support and encouragement that you have given to me and Prince Philip over these years and to tell you how deeply moved we have been to receive so many kind messages about the Diamond Jubilee.

In this special year, as I dedicate myself anew to your service, I hope we will all be reminded of the power of togetherness and the convening strength of family, friendship and good neighbourliness, examples of which I have been fortunate to see throughout my reign and which my family and I look forward to seeing in many forms as we travel throughout the United Kingdom and the wider Commonwealth.

I hope also that this Jubilee year will be a time to give thanks for the great advances that have been made since 1952 and to look forward to the future with clear head and warm heart as we join together in our celebrations.

I send my sincere good wishes to you all.

ELIZABETH R.

About eastlondonmike

I'm a 30 year old gay man living in Leyton, East London. I'm very opinionated and many people may not like what I have to say. I like to create discussion. You can only change things by making people think.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

