Brain Activity

20120209-122731.jpg

On a cold evening last week my partner took me to David Shrigley’s Brain Activity exhibition at the Hayward Gallery on London’s South bank.

The Glasgow based artist is famous for creating unconventional and often bizarre pieces and this latest exhibition lives up to that reputation.

When exiting the lift into the gallery the first thing to catch my eye was a headless emu. The gallery has a smattering of animals who have gone through the process of taxidermy, including a hidden rat which did stop me in my tracks. Each of the dead animals has a story to tell and Shrigley presents them in an interesting and thought provoking way.

David Shrigley is probably most well known for his drawings. His crude and often childlike sketches have adorned many greeting cards. The Hayward Gallery features some of his most funny, odd and sometimes disturbing doodles. There are a lot to view but it is worth taking the time to take in each of them.

One of my favourite pieces is an animation entitled “New Friends”. The short film tackles social conformity in a somewhat brutal but simplistic way.

As with all art exhibitions the exhibits here force you to think about situations that you would never have considered otherwise. Brain Activity is diverse in it’s subjects and Shrigley is not afraid to approach the taboo with a touch of humour. This visit was my introduction to the work of David Shrigley and I have to admit that I am now a fan. I love art and artists that make me think and Brain Activity does exactly that.

Brain Activity is on at the Hayward Gallery, Southbank Centre until 13th May 2012.

About eastlondonmike

I'm a 30 year old gay man living in Leyton, East London. I'm very opinionated and many people may not like what I have to say. I like to create discussion. You can only change things by making people think.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

