RIP Whitney Houston

I can’t describe how shocked I am at the sudden loss of Whitney Houston. The 48 year old singer was found dead in her LA hotel room yesterday.

Whitney shot to fame in the 1980s and remained at the height of her game through the 1990s.

As I was growing up her talent was the one I most admired. Her voice could grab you emotionally. She was one of those rare talents, someone who will go down in history as one of the greats of her time.

I was literally only thinking about Whitney yesterday. Her widely documented problems with drugs and her disappointing comeback tour had marred her final decade. The tragic shame and loss of her greatness was evident before this tragic news. However it is for her brilliance that she will now be remembered.

Here is her biggest hit and undoubtedly her greatest vocal performance. “I Will Always Love You”.

About eastlondonmike

I'm a 30 year old gay man living in Leyton, East London. I'm very opinionated and many people may not like what I have to say. I like to create discussion. You can only change things by making people think.
This entry was posted in Showbiz and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RIP Whitney Houston

  1. Michelle says:

    I can’t believe it, I’ve just woken up and heard the sad shocking news.I have some happy memories of Whitney’s songs while growing up. ‘I Wanna Dance With Somebody’ reminds me of a great family holiday we had down in Somerset when I was just 15 years old. And ‘I Will Always Love You’ was no.1 in the charts when I had my eldest son on Christmas eve1992. I’m not usually one to get upset when a famous person dies but this has actually made me shed a few tears, very sad indeed.X

  2. Emma White says:

    Well said mike RIP whitney xx

Leave a Reply

