Things that make me go WOW

I wanted to start a new series of posts that highlight things that have caught my eye but don’t necessarily warrant a full post for themselves. Why “wow”? Well… it is probably one of the words I overuse the most! Some of the things I feature will not have actually made me proclaim “wow” but they will all be things that have got me excited or i have found interesting. I hope you enjoy the first collection of things that have made me go “Wow!”

The Woman in Black

Me and my partner made our first visit to the cinema in months last night. I had been waiting to see The Woman in Black ever since I saw the trailer last year. It wasn’t exactly amazing but it definitely delivered.

This is the first movie Daniel Radcliffe has done since the Harry Potter series. In this ghost story he gives a surprisingly convincing performance as a single father. This movie is just the right level of spookiness that I can handle. It will have you jumping in your seat. If you liked “The Others” you will love this.

Adele cut short

This story made me go “wow” for somewhat the wrong reasons. I found it appalling that TV bosses forced an awkward looking James Corden to interrupt Adele’s acceptance speech at this week’s Brit Awards. The London based singer was only 20 seconds into her speech when she was cut short by production bosses at ITV who have since apologised. Adele made her feelings clear at the time!

20120223-185231.jpg

The Fourth Plinth

A 4.1m high bronze sculpture of a boy on a rocking horse, by artists Elmgreen and Dragset was unveiled on the Fourth Plinth in London’s Trafalgar Square today.

20120223-185420.jpg

I love it’s simplicity. It is an unparalleled platform for artists to have their work displayed in one of the London’s best loved landmarks.

J K Rowling’s New Novel

It has been announced today that J K Rowling’s new novel will be for adults and is currently being worked on with publishers Little, Brown.

Rowling made this statement on the release: “Although I’ve enjoyed writing it every bit as much, my next book will be very different to the Harry Potter series, which has been published so brilliantly by Bloomsbury and my other publishers around the world. The freedom to explore new territory is a gift that Harry’s success has brought me, and with that new territory it seemed a logical progression to have a new publisher. I am delighted to have a second publishing home in Little, Brown, and a publishing team that will be a great partner in this new phase of my writing life.”

I can’t wait to read some new material from Jo Rowling. I am a great fan of the Harry Potter books and I am looking forward to finding out what else her imagination has come up with.

About eastlondonmike

I'm a 30 year old gay man living in Leyton, East London. I'm very opinionated and many people may not like what I have to say. I like to create discussion. You can only change things by making people think.
This entry was posted in Things that make me go "Wow"! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

