Home

I spent the last two days in my home town of Bristol. Me and my partner were there to attend a family party.

Since leaving Bristol for London 18 months ago I have only returned a handful of times. This is the first time I have taken my partner and it was interesting to view Bristol from a slightly tourist kind of view.

We visited the Museum of Bristol which has hardly changed since I was a baby. The tired exhibits were very much a trip down memory lane for me. I can remember pushing the lights on the map of the Bristol area and being shown the stuffed body of Alfred the gorilla who died at Bristol zoo in the 1940s.

There are also some very new additions to Bristol. Not least a street which has been transformed by some larger than life street art.

20120305-105625.jpg

The most impressive of Bristol’s attractions is of course Clifton Suspension Bridge. The views from the bridge still impress me after 30 years of crossing it.

Despite loving Bristol, catching up with family members and sharing Bristol with my partner, I was glad to return home to London. Bristol may be my “hometown” but London is my home. This is where my heart is.

About eastlondonmike

I'm a 30 year old gay man living in Leyton, East London. I'm very opinionated and many people may not like what I have to say. I like to create discussion. You can only change things by making people think.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

