Things that make me go wow – IV

I feel like I should apologise for another “wow” post so quickly after the last one. As soon as I finish one post I start a list of things to go on the next. The list for this latest edition filled up rather quickly! Making the list this time are a unique way to give your pet a treat, a very touchy-feely Prince and a rather strange town.

Din Dins!!

The Metro featured a story this week about a dog owner who has invented an electronic system to feed his dog when he is not there.

Inventor Nat Morris has created the system which allows him to send a tweet on Twitter to feed his pet. The tweet to his dog’s account triggers a mini computer which buzzes to alert the dog, Toby, that food is on it’s way. A motor from a printer opens a trap door which releases a serving of food down a tube into Toby’s food bowl. A webcam also allows Mr Morris to see that Toby has picked up his food.

Nat Morris is said to be considering patenting his system. I’d love to be able to feed my cat Harry when I’m not here. Sometimes I am running late and he is less than impressed that he has to wait.

Hugging Harry

I have been very impressed by the behaviour of Prince Harry on his trip to Jamaica this week. The Prince pushed tradition aside to hug Jamaican Prime Minister Portia Simpson-Miller. Bob Marley’s widow, Rita, was also treated to a similar greeting.

20120307-212101.jpg
Prince Harry meets Portia Simpson-Miller

The young generation of the royal family represent a new way of doing things and Harry has a key role to play in reshaping the monarchy for the 21st century. His relaxed approach to this state visit has to be applauded.

Thames Town

Thames Town featured on Gok Wan’s one off TV special “Made in China”. Like Gok himself, I thought it equally weird and amazing. Thames Town is the English name for a new town in Songjiang Town, China and is named after the River Thames.

The architecture both imitates and is influenced by classic English market town styles. There are cobbled streets, red telephone boxes, a fish and chip shop and even a replica of St Mary Redcliffe Church, Bristol.

20120308-062538.jpg
Photo – Huai-Chun Hsu

About eastlondonmike

I'm a 30 year old gay man living in Leyton, East London. I'm very opinionated and many people may not like what I have to say. I like to create discussion. You can only change things by making people think.
This entry was posted in Things that make me go "Wow"! and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

