April Fool

20120402-175227.jpg

I am pleased to say that I managed to get through yesterday without falling for any April Fools jokes. I have been fooled in the past and now approach every news story I read on April 1st with scepticism.

I have to admit I was very tempted to post an April Fool yesterday. I was trying to think of something good but I did not want to annoy people. With April Fool jokes there is always the chance that people will get annoyed and that the joke will back-fire. I did not have the imagination to come up with something silly but believable and wouldn’t have the risk of people being annoyed.

I think one of the best stories I saw yesterday was the one that claimed that the London Eye would run at 5 times it’s normal speed during this summer’s Olympics. The story stated that the plan was to turn the attraction into a thrilling fairground ride. Clearly this was a joke and is a good example of what April Fool jokes should be.

News site Pink News used it’s April Fool story to highlight the calls for equal marriage. They ran a story claiming that the Catholic Church was relaxing it’s stance against equal marriage for lesbian and gay people. Now that was almost the most unbelievable story of the day – even though it shouldn’t be!

Gone are the days when people can be fooled by reports of aliens invading on April 1st. In this age of social media, people are able to use Twitter and Facebook to create jokes. Singer Olly Murs fooled his fans that he had got a Manchester United tattoo. One Direction star Louis Tomlinson tweeted the news that he was going to become a Dad. You can imagine the number of teenage hearts fluttering. Louis then set the record straight by claiming that bandmate Harry Styles was the Mother! I’m sure thousands of girls were relieved!

The perfect April Fool has to be believable but something that is not going to back-fire. Maybe next year I’ll come up with something good. I wonder how many of you reading this will remember that I’ve warned you!

About eastlondonmike

I'm a 30 year old gay man living in Leyton, East London. I'm very opinionated and many people may not like what I have to say. I like to create discussion. You can only change things by making people think.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

