That Thing

When I am writing my posts for “Song for the Weekend” I try to explain why I have chosen that song.

This was a completely random choice. The other morning I was (for no apparent reason) thinking about the “Sister Act” films. I remember seeing them both at the cinema with my Dad and loving them. “Sister Act 2” saw Sister Mary Clarence, played by Whoopi Goldberg turn a group of unruly school kids into a choir. Among the actors playing the kids was Lauryn Hill.

She shone in the movie and gave us all a taster of her incredible vocal talent. When her group “The Fugees” released their single “Killing Me Softly” in 1996 it went straight to number 1. Their album “The Score” became the soundtrack of that summer.

Lauren Hill went on to have a successful solo career. Her album “The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill” was released in 1998 and spawned three singles. My favourite of these is “Doo Wop (That Thing)”.

About eastlondonmike

I'm a 30 year old gay man living in Leyton, East London. I'm very opinionated and many people may not like what I have to say. I like to create discussion. You can only change things by making people think.
This entry was posted in Song for the Weekend and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

