London Decides

You may remember I wrote a piece a couple of weeks ago regarding my indecision over who to vote for in the London Mayor Elections. Well tomorrow is the day we go to the polls and I am still at a loss.

I still believe it is a two horse race but i have doubts about both Boris Johnson and Ken Livingstone.

To be honest a lot of the campaign has been a bit of a circus which has made some of the candidates less and less appealing to voters. There have been expletive ridden tirades, gaffs and already broken promises.

The “Sack Boris” campaign has been convincing and very visible. During the hustings organised by Stonewall last month he promised his LGBT focused manifesto would be released the following week. The manifesto failed to materialise. He pledged again three days ago that the LGBT manifesto was coming. It has been revealed today that those plans have been dropped.

As you already know, I am a Labour supporter but I am struggling to be passionate about having Ken Livingstone as Mayor. He does come across a little out of touch and I believe a new candidate would have given Labour a much stronger chance of winning.

I will make a decision but at this present time I have no idea what it will be. The important message I can give you is to ensure that you do use your vote. London is our city and this is our only chance to decide how it is run.

About eastlondonmike

I'm a 30 year old gay man living in Leyton, East London. I'm very opinionated and many people may not like what I have to say. I like to create discussion. You can only change things by making people think.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

